Magical Readathon TBR

It’s September and G’s Magical Readathon is back, the announcement video is here and I love the new story and world! Although only two prompts are needed to pass I am going to try to complete the whole path, and then the character prompts if I have a chance (and then join Becca’s BookoplAthon is I still have time left) so here are the ten-ish books I am planning to read in September.

Path Prompts

The Novice Path Entrance – A book with a map
I’m starting out with This Golden Flame by Emily Victoria which I got in a fairyloot box a few months ago and had sat on the top of my bookcase ever since as I desperately want to pick it up.

Ashtorn Tree – A book that keeps tempting you
On the same pile as This Golden Flame are a couple more and I haven’t settled on which one exactly I’m going to pick up for this but my options are The Prison Healer by Lynette Noni or Force Collector by Kevin Shinick.

The Mist of Solitude – A standalone
For this I am going to use the August Middle Grade Monthly book, The Shark Caller by Zillah Bethell, because the liveshow was delayed and I am very unlikely to get to it before the end on this month.

Ruin of the Skye – A book with ghosts / other supernatural elements
Then there’s also the September Middle Grade Monthly book with is a reread for me, and actually one of my favourite middle grades of all time, The Screaming Staircase by Jonathan Stroud!

Obsidian Falls – A thriller or mystery book
I am using a loose interpretation of the prompt for this as I these aren’t genres I really read but Shatterpoint by Matthew Woodring Stover is about Mace Windu trying to solve the mystery of what happened to Depa, who was previously his padawan, and where she is now, so I’m going to count it.

Tower of Rumination – A five star prediction
K.J. Charles is one of my favourite authors, especially romance authors, and I haven’t yet picked up The Gentle Art of Fortune Hunting which I cannot imagine loving any less than her previous books.

Orillium Academy Arc – A school setting
This was actually the hardest prompt because the only ones I could think of were ones I’ve already read or don’t yet own, but I went hunting through my shelves and found I have a copy of The Iron Trial by Holly Black & Cassandra Clare so I think it’s going to be that.

Character Prompts

Background: Wilding – Largely set in a forest / outside
This is one I bought last week and I believe fits the prompt, and if not is very plant focused so fits the spirit I feel, This Poison Heart by Kalynn Bayron.

Province: Irtheria – Features Fae / Elven characters
I was planning on starting the main Witcher books with Blood of Elves by Andrzej Sapkowski ahead of season two of the netflix show starts in December (I think), so this prompt was perfect.

Heritage: Earthing – Elemental magic / element in title
This was the hardest character aspect to choose, and I may end up redoing my character heritage because two things I love are wings and shapeshifting and those are two different heritages, but right now I’m going with an Air Earthling and wings, and appropriately Air Awakens by Elise Kova.

Leave a comment